122 Acres saved
Shrinking Funding
Support for Sheep Project
CCF elects New Directors
Clark Farm Protected

Archived Newsletters:



Any queries or comments please contact

CCF Directors

Alan Ankers
Barney Arnold
Liz Carpenter
Wayne Davis
Marjie Findlay
David Freedman
Peg Gladstone
Heidi Harring
Steve Hinton
Lori Jiménez
Jamie Klickstein
Lynn Knight
Jay Luby
Greg Peterson
Scott Simpson
Steve Spang
Sally Swift
Steve Tobin

P.O. Box 300
Carlisle, MA 01741




December 2003




CCF Elects New Directors at Annual Meeting

At its annual meeting on June 9 the Carlisle Conservation Foundation elected Carolyn Kiely and Michael Epstein as directors, each for a three year term. The event was held at the home of Mary Zoll on School Street and included tours of the property’s trails (watching beavers swim in the pond below the house) and a

Trails Committee members Verna Gilbert, George Fardy and Marc Lamere clearing Clark Farm Trail.     Photo by Midge Eliassen

potluck supper. Dot Clark and Grant Wilson were honored for their conservation restriction on Clark Farm (see accompanying article) and Bernie McHugh, Coordinator of the Massachusetts Land Trust Coalition, provided an update on conservation initiatives at the state level.

The Board is excited to welcome Carolyn and Michael. The new CCF directors are both attorneys with past experience on town committees, Carolyn as Chair of the Carlisle Conservation Commission and Michael as a member and Head of the Planning Board. Carolyn and her family have lived in Carlisle for five years, and the Epsteins have been residents since 1994.


Tim Parson

Local and Federal Support for Sheep Project

This year the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Services awarded Carlisle a grant under the Wildlife Habitat Incentive Program (WHIP). This grant and the donations of many enthusiastic Carlislians enabled us to continue a third year of the intensive sheep grazing project, designed to clear fields of invasive growth and restore grassland habitats. Sheepcapes, the company running the project, is very encouraged by the return of clovers and healthier pasture grasses to Towle Field and Spencer Brook Reservation. This project has been a wonderful collaboration with the Town of Concord, Minuteman National Park and especially with the Carlisle Conservation Commission, with outstanding support from Sylvia Willard, who wrote the grant proposal to the WHIP program. Many of you enjoyed the sheep herding demonstration that CCF sponsored at Towle Field in October; we ask your generous support to help us carry this grazing project into 2004 . Marjie Findlay


Carlisle Conservation Foundation and Land Trust

P.O. Box 300, Carlisle MA 01741

Board Members: Barney Arnold, Christine Bopardikar, Wayne Davis, Tim Eliassen, Michael Epstein, Marjie Findlay, Heidi Harring, Steve Hinton,
Carolyn Kiely, Jay Luby, Art Milliken, Alex Parra, Tim Parson, Greg Peterson, Fontaine Richardson, Scott Simpson, Larry Sorli, Steve Spang, Sally Swift

We invite you to join CCF with your tax deductible donation.